m43-FF Comparison part II (Olympus E-M5 vs. EOS 6D)

In a previous post I did a quick comparison of the image quality (level of details) between my Micro Four Thirds (m43) Olympus OM-D E-M5 and my “full frame” (FF) Canon EOS 6D. The 6D showed slightly more details but I figured at least parts of it could be because of the lenses I used (Panasonic 14mm f/2.5 on the Olympus and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 on the Canon) so I wanted to do the test again with my Panasonic Leica DG 25/1,4 ASPH Summilux on the m43 system which I know is a sharp lens, at least in the center. The last couple of weeks I have read some debate about the difference between FF and m43 and I started to think about this again and remembered I actually already did something similar with the 25mm f/1.4. At the time I wanted to confirm the difference in DOF but I think the shots also gives an idea of difference in details.

So here are the shots. I have shot in RAW, used base ISO on both systems and set 2 steps smaller aperture on the 6D with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 in order to get the same DOF. I have let the camera set the shutter speed based on it own metering and then done some small exposure adjustments in post to get the same exposure. I have also done input sharpening in Lightroom with the following parameters:
Amount: 45
Radius: 0.8
Detail: 15
Masking: 65

I have included links to the full resolution files in JPG but also added a 100% crop in order to see the difference quickly.

First shot

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4 @ f/2.

Canon EOS 6D with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 @ f/4.

Crop

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4 @ f/2, 100% crop.

Crop

Canon EOS 6D with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 @ f/4, 100% crop.

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4 @ f/2.

Second shot

Canon EOS 6D with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 @ f/4.

Crop

Olympus OM-D E-M5 with Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4 @ f/2, 100% crop.

Crop

Canon EOS 6D with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 @ f/4, 100% crop.

My conclusion from these shots is the same as the last time. The colors differ (I prefer the Canon colors) but I guess at least parts of that could be fixed in post processing. Just looking at the level of details I still feel m43 is capable of very impressing results.

Leave a Reply

