A cold Easter week in Val Thorens/Les 3 Vallées

I spent last week skiing around Val Thorens in Les 3 Vallées area. The plan was to get good spring skiing in the sun but apparently the winter hasn’t ended in France and it was more like a week in February than beginning of April. Sunday we basically had zero visibility (but good snow both in the piste and off piste), Monday/Tuesday was good and then the weather got worse again. I managed to get some good shots but not a great week for ski photography.

Panasonic GF3 and 14mm f/2.5.

Canon 6D and EF 70-200mm f/4L.

Canon 6D and EF 70-200mm f/4L.

Panasonic GF3 and 14mm f/2.5.

This week has left me even more convinced that a pocketable camera is needed on trips like this; I just can’t be bothered to stop and take out the DSLR from the backpack all the time. I also feel I need to do some tests do understand how the AF on the 6d should be configured for action photo. On this trip I tried changing it to be better at tracking but I think the result was that it wasn’t fast enough to keep focus on the skiers when they got closer to me.

Leave a Reply

