Shopping on impulse FTW!

So, after coming to the conclusion that I didn’t need any Canon 6D I went and bought one anyway 🙂

Even if I could have managed without it I’m very happy with the camera so far. It could be that I end up using the EOS 50D for action shots in the end, but to test the 6D out I brought it to Chamonix for one week of back-country and couloir skiing.

Canon EOS 6D and Tamron 28-75 f/2.8.

Canon EOS 6D and EF 70-200 f/4L.

Canon EOS 6D and EF 70-200 f/4L.

Not a dedicated sports camera but I think it did ok. I had some problems with missed focus in AI Servo mode (the camera focused on the spraying powder snow instead of he skier) but I think that’s mostly a configuration issue. I have now changed from the default focus settings to make the camera slower to change focus subject and I will see if that makes any difference for tracking accuracy.

And one example form the Panasonic GF3 with I carried around in the front pocket of my skiing pants the whole week.

Panasonic GF3 with the 14mm f/2.5.

Next skiing trip is in a couple of weeks (to Val Thorens) and I think I will bring the same gear then. One more chance to see if the Canon 6D can handle sports and action!

Leave a Reply

