Depth Of Field (DOF) Control with m43 and FF

As a follow-up to my post yesterday about lust for a Canon 6D (or a 5D III) I have more or less concluded that the main benefit of going to FF (without also investing in a lot new lenses) would be the possibility of more background blur for my existing EF lenses. The chart below is an attempt to compare my Canon lenses on a FF to what would be possible to achieve with my m43 system (maybe adding one or two lenses) in regard to background blur.  The m43 lenses are plotted on the 35 mm equivalent for focal length and aperture in regard to DOF.

Maybe something to follow up with actual test shots, but it looks like adding an Olympus 75 mm f/1.8 (or an Olympus 45 f/1.8) would have bigger effect than buying a Canon 6D (if I can stand working only with primes). Adding both a Canon 6D and a fast prime (like EF 85 mm f/1.8) changes things.

Aperture comparison between FF and m43 (with regard to DOF).

Aperture comparison between FF and m43 (with regard to DOF).

The day I feel a need for thin DOF at portrait focal lengths (like 85-150 mm) I need to decide if the Canon 6D is worth the money compared to investing in a new lens for the OM-D, but no need to rush it I guess.

Leave a Reply

