More OM-D With Adapted Lenses

The testing of dad’s Nikon lenses continues, below are more shots with Nikkor 50 f/2.0 and Nikkor 105 f/2.5. It’s a bit more complicated to keep things apart when the lens information is not stored in the Exif, but I think I at least have gotten the lens model right.

Nikkor 50 f/2 (wide open I think).

Nikkor 50 f/2 (wide open I think).

Nikkor 50 f/2 (wide open I think).

Nikkor 50 f/2 (wide open I think).

Nikkor 105 f/2.5 (stopped down a little I think).

Nikkor 105 f/2.5 (stopped down a little I think).

Nikkor 105 f/2.5 (stopped down a little).

Nikkor 105 f/2.5 (stopped down a little).

Ellen

Nikkor 105 f/2.5 @ f/5.6.

I did some tests to see how they behave over the aperture range, but since I did it very quickly and without a careful and controlled setup (I took all the shots handheld with quite slow shutter speed) I will just summarize my findings instead of posting photos; both of the Nikkor lenses are reasonably sharp wide open, but improves when stopped down and none of them is as sharp as my Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4. But sharpness is not everything and especially the 105mm lens feels fun and something completely different than my two native m43 lenses. Once I get used to using manual focus I think it can be a nice portrait lens.

And speaking of manual focus, I tried this workaround to get some sort of focus peaking on the OM-D. It works ok, but it’s difficult to compose the the shot with the artistic filter enabled and I really hope Olympus implements an official version in future FW upgrades. Focus peaking makes manual focusing so much faster.

Leave a Reply

