My Current Collection Of Junk

I went through the drawer where I keep my photo gear since I felt I needed to tidy it up little and used the opportunity to take a photo of all my camera bodies and lenses.

My collection of camera bodies and lenses.

I really feel I should try to sell some of this stuff, but at the same time I don’t think I will get that much for the lenses I use the least (the Tamron and the EF 35mm f/2) so when I consider it I always end up thinking I might just as well keep everything.

If anyone is interested this is how I see I might use it all.

Camera bodies:

  • Canon EOS 50D: Will mainly be used for action photography (e.g. MTB and maybe skiing if I can be bothered to bring it on skiing trips) and macros. I also have a good Canon SpeedLite flash for it, so another possible use could be portraits if I ever get more into that.
  • Olympus OM-D E-M5: I plan to use this as my main everyday camera and probably keep the Panasonic Leica DG 25mm f/1,4 on it for most of the time. This is also what I see I will bring when I travel in general. I don’t plan to buy more accessories for it (e.g. external flash) it until I get rid of some of the Canon gear.
  • Panasonic Lumix DMC-GF3: Meant to be used together with the Panasonic Lumix G 14mm f/2.5 as a pocketable setup (e.g. on skiing trips) so I don’t have to use a crappy mobile phone camera. I already damaged it a little when I took a fall on a MTB DH ride, will be interesting to see how it handles the abuse. Update: I bought it fully knowing that it didn’t have an option to add EVF or external flash, but that is also the main reason I would not settle for this as my everyday camera body. Even though I don’t plan to buy any sophisticated flashes for my m43 systems, the fact that you can’t set the output of the on-board flash makes it almost useless even as a fill flash (which the on-board flashes normally are good enough for). Also there are cases when a viewfinder is nice to have. But again, my main goal with this camera is to avoid using the mobile phone when I can’t be bothered to bring (or take out) one of the better bodies.

Lenses:

  • Panasonic Lumix G 14mm f/2.5: Wide angle travel lens for the m43 bodies and enabling a pocketable setup together with the Panasonic GF3. The f/2.5 aperture makes it possible to get a little bit of background blur if the subject is close enough.
  • Panasonic Leica DG 25mm f/1,4: Everyday lens for the m43 bodies (will mostly use it on the OM-D I think). The large aperture together with the noise performance of the OM-D also makes this a great setup in low light (as long as the focal length works out for what I’m trying to shoot).
  • Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM: Travel lens and general action photo lens. The fast focusing and decent focal length range makes it a great lens to bring on skiing trips.
  • Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM: Second action photo lens, but for more specific compositions since it’s difficult to use if you want to show a bit of the scenery around the subject. With extension tubes I also think it works good as a semi-macro lens.
  • Canon EF 35mm f/2: I originally bought this to use as a smaller everyday lens on the Canon 50D, but now I guess I will use the Panasonic Leica 25mm f/1.4 on the OM-D most of the time instead. The Panasonic is sharper wide open, but I still have a hard time letting go of the EF 35mm f/2. Maybe I will have use for it if I don’t bring the M43 cameras and want something smaller to put on the EOS 50D.
  • Tamron AF SP 28-75/2,8 XR Di: The first lens I bought (back in 2006 I think) and today there is overlaps all of my Canon lenses. I still like it for macro like photography (together with extension tubes) and the f/2.8 maximum aperture gives it an edge towards the EF-S 15-85 in bad light and therefore I figured I could have a use for it in MTB photography (even though the AF is quite a bit worse compared to the EF-S 15-85).
  • Tokina Tokina AT-X Pro 11-16mm f/2,8 DX: The f/2.8 maximum aperture makes this a great lens for night landscape photography.

I guess the biggest challenge will be to decide whether or not to bring the Canon gear when I travel. For action shots (e.g. skiing) the continuous AF in the 50D is great, but having all this equipment in a drawer in my bedroom is a completely different thing than to lug it around on a trip.

2 thoughts on “My Current Collection Of Junk

  1. I love the E-M5 combined with the Leica 25 – my favorite all purpose lens. I carry my m4/3 kit everywhere. It’s small enough to carry a pretty extensive kit in a messenger bag.

  2. Same here, on Saturday I brought both the GF3 and the OM-D when I went into town to watch a marathon race and my camera bag was still lighter than a normal day out with the Canon equipment (a Think Tank Retrospective 10 and I have room for so much more in it). Still, I’m not at all happy with the continuous AF on the m43 bodies, I found it almost useless when shooting runners coming towards me. With single-shot AF and pre-focus it works but at the moment the EOS 50D is what I will bring if I my main intention is to shoot moving subjects.

Leave a Reply

