Size Comparison of Olympus OM-D E-M5

My new toy Olympus OM-D E-M5 has arrived! I have been very happy with the results from my Panasonic GF3 so I have decided to try m43 as my primary system. I figured I wanted a viewfinder and better noise performance on my primary camera so I placed an order for an Olympus OM-D. Of course it was out of stock and while I was waiting for it I started to think I didn’t really need it and was just about to cancel the order when I got a e-mail saying it was shipped. No harm done, it will fit nicely between the GF3 (which I plan to use as a pocketable setup on skiing trips) and my old Canon EOS 50D (which I plan to use for action shots of MTB and skiing until I see that the Olympus have good enough continues AF).

I haven’t really had time to test the Olympus yet, but I brought it to a concert a few days ago and took some photos. There are also a couple more on my flickr page.

Below are some photos comparing the sizes of my cameras; Panasonic GF3 with the 14 f/2.5, Olympus OM-D with the PL 25 f/1.4 and Canon EOS 50D with the Tamron 28-75 f/2,8. From some angles the size of the cameras looks about the same, but in real life there is a significant difference between all three of them. The lack of viewfinder on the Panasonic GF3 makes it much easier to put in the pocket of a jacket or loose pair of trousers (e.g. skiing pants or DH biking shorts) and the smaller size of the Olympus OM-D (and the lenses) compared to the Canon EOS 50D gives you more room for accessories (or other important things, like snacks) in the camera bag.

Olympus OM-D (with PL 25 f/1.4) and Panasonic GF3 (with 14 f/2.5). Notice the battle scars from a bike trip on the GF3 🙂

Olympus OM-D (with PL 25 f/1.4) and Panasonic GF3 (with 14 f/2.5).

Olympus OM-D (with PL 25 f/1.4) and Panasonic GF3 (with 14 f/2.5).

Canon EOS 50D (with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8) and Olympus OM-D (with PL 25 f/1.4).

Canon EOS 50D (with Tamron 28-75 f/2.8) and Olympus OM-D (with PL 25 f/1.4).

Future will tell if I’m going to use (and keep) all three cameras and how difficult it will be to decide what to bring on trips.

Leave a Reply

